Cards.

After seeing Gregg Segal’s work I felt even more inspired to get out as Sailor Moon in Coventry and take some truly mundane images of my beloved super hero like to the waste side and feeling half heated and bored of how things are as I imagine it must get boring saving the world all the time. I decided to keep it all local based as the area of Coventry where I am currently residing is particularly run down and not very charming and I thought it would be perfect for the images. Im not trying to glamorise them or have them looking anything like the New York images, the only constant factor is I want to try and keep the framing ruffly the same, so I will be in the centre of the images and also I will be dressed as Sailor Moon.

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

DSC_0470

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

DSC_0508

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

The reason I decided to take some images in the park because I thought it was rather ironic, ironic in the sense that this park was so dead with literally no children there playing because they where probably at home playing computer games instead of playing out. I was reminded in a survey a few years back that now barely any children play out any more, its all games and online that our parks are empty. So I wanted to take a photo of a childhood hero of mine leaving the virtual space and going somewhere kids should be.

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

I decided at the last moment to have some images of Sailor Moon drinking a can of Carling because I saw one on the floor and remembered that where children once played teens now hang out at night drinking and doing whatever. But I was also reminded of the film Hancock, with the alcoholic superhero!! So I decided to bring it in to add abit more to my images, I also thought as we Britons are notorious for our skills in drinking I thought it would be abit of a shock value that a beloved hero of many people my age is in a sense encouraging drinking.

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Copyright; Alexi Cirelli

Over all I am very pleased with these images and I think they contrast well with the images I took in New York, I feel like when I put the captions with them aswell it will add more the the images and they wont just be some more pictures of Sailor Moon. I think that now I am starting to be impressed with my own project and the life it seems to have taken on. I can see it growing into so much more and I know it has so much more to offer outside of university which is exciting.  When I print these i want them to be smaller then A4, maybe about A5 or something because I do not feel they would work well any bigger I feel like they are something small to be handled and the aim is for people to take them away with them so they can take something away from my exhibition.

Leave a Reply

