Making the video.

945656_10152829675010068_722735299_n

So because I decided to make the transformation video stop motion I got into our studios at uni for an afternoon with my Rei costume and went crazy. I also asked Ria to come in and help me as she did such a wonderful job when we where in New York and she understands my work very well and what I want from it which makes us working together very easy.  I decided to use Rei for the transformation video because I couldn’t really see a situation where photographing Rei in an urban environment and it working, also because she is my alter ego I felt it would work better to have a transformation process where the audience can see me become her. Making the video, I decided to start off using  imovie because im good at it and know how to use it effectively but I knew  I wasn’t going to use it for the whole process of making the video simply because using final cut would be better because it is a more effective software to use when making films and has more to offer.

Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 11.00.06 Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 11.23.15 Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 11.44.48

Stop motion takes forever and I really didnt think about that before I started shooting the video, I had also decided it would be a great idea to shoot on two camera’s so I could try and get a slightly different angel so that when edited it would make the video seem slightly unstable and glitchy like a game. However sometimes it just didnt really work I felt that useing the stop motion as it was would work better for the transformation video, especially as I am making it look like a manga transformation.  I also have to consider things like the transitions and what music I am going to have, I want it to be up beat like the Sailor Moon music, however looking at Rei I feel that maybe a shower paced song would work out better however it all just depends on what I can find in creative commons.

Leave a Reply

