Gregg Segal.

Gregg Segal is an unusual guy and it’s reflected in his unusual subject matter whether it’s the daily lives of pirates or superheroes, and when I say daily life  I mean an absolutely mundane existence, I mean Batman on a vespa rather then the Batmobile type boring. Self described as “too fine art for documentary and too documentary for fine art,” Segal has tried to carve out his own niche, blending both disciplines.

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

Gregg Segal

I really like the idea behind these images, I love the idea of the super hero living the life that his civilian alter ego does on a their daily basis. I like the fact that the super hero is being forced to do these things that isnt exactly what you would imagine a hero doing, for example Batman picking up weights no one ever expects him to go and work out I mean lets face it no one reads or watches Batman and thinks about how often he works out yet here he is working out. Or Wonder Woman playing with a broken nail! Thats something for the normal woman to worry about not the hero with her lasso of truth and all the rest, I could go on but I think the photos speak for them selfs.  I really like this idea for my own boring super hero looks, but I feel where these have been done I should take it from a different angle. Maybe more of a half hearted hero out on the look for something somewhere to save but not really putting the effort in because whats the point the world doesn’t really need me type thing, to enforce the meaning that (i’m) the super hero has been replaced with the shiny sparkling vampires, not the one fighting for love and justice. I also want them to have a huge difference to the buzzing bright lights of New York images I took, I feel that because these are supposed to be of a mundane boring life, I should try and find some run down area’s. Maybe have the Sailor Moon at a bus stop, I mean you would never think of a hero waiting for the bus to get to an incident.  Or at a run down house possibly even burnt down, just standing there to show that the accident has already happened and she was to late. Thank God for living in Hillfields.

Leave a Reply

