Trey Ratcliff

I’ve kind of gone crazy for the whole HDR thing and in my search for more good HDR photographers out there so I can learn off them and look at their techniques and apply them to my own images. When I came across Trey Ratcliff I found him very hard to ignore, at first glance I thought that his images may have been abit to far and where to over the top with the HDR to a point where they didn’t look mystical and enchanting anymore but more harsh. However when I decided to look closer and actually spent the time to look at each image and not just in it a haze of thumbnails on google I was surprised, the colours are amazing and so enticing to look at you cant ignore them.  Compared to Dave Hills sleek and shiny photographs that look so smooth and polished yet bright and buzzing these ones feel more, I dunno… jagged? Yeah jagged and bright and in your face colour that I like it I think they make the images striking and hard to miss.

Trey Ratcliff

Trey Ratcliff

Trey Ratcliff

Trey Ratcliff

Trey Ratcliff

Trey Ratcliff

Trey Ratcliff

Trey Ratcliff

This really has made me want to try and get a skyline shot when I go to New York in HDR, after seeing these its become so much more of a clearer vision in my head and it is one that I will strive to achieve. It has also got me thinking finally about how I want to present these images, I cannot image that when these where exhibited they where small photographs on a wall. No, these to my mind would have been big A2 A1 size prints that made you step back and look at them properly and letting your self feel emerged in the image in front of you. I feel mine should be the same, I want the viewer to feel part of the image because of its dominating size,  financially wise I know that maybe that wont be an option because im  a broke student so maybe I can down size a touch to A3 however  I do know that this is potentially a project that I will continue through my career in some way so maybe one day I can exhibit these images on a larger scale.

Leave a Reply

