Mariko Mori

Mariko Mori, born 1967 in TokyoJapan) is a Japanese video and photographic artist. While studying at Bunka Fashion College, she worked as a fashion model in the late 1980s. This strongly influenced her early works, such as Play with Me, in which she takes control of her role in the image, becoming an exotic, alien creature in everyday scenes.  Her Play With Me (1994) series shows her standing outside a Tokyo toy store, Mori dressed herself as a sexy cyborg—with light blue hair in long ponytails, metallic blue plastic in a hard-shell articulation of erotic body parts, silver plastic gloves, and a dress. Mori was trying to show that she connects to the robotic toys inside the store, but also to show her available unemotional sexuality. The Subway (1994) work is of  Mori stood in a Tokyo subway car dressed as if she just landed from outer space. She was dressed in a silver metallic costume with a headset, microphone, and push-buttons on her forearm. This transformation—along with Play With Me—was to explore different constructed identities.

The reason I chose to look at Mori for my work is because I feel there are two styles in her work that would really compliment my own if I incourperated them into my images when I take them.  I love the images taken of her in the cyborg outfit in an arcade and walking down the streets of tokyo, I feel that the is something so bizarre and eye catching about them and I feel like I am peeking into some weird alternate reality where it is ok for people to walk around like this. Its also interesting because where I for some reason imagined taking the photos of myself as Sailor Moon or Rei in somewhere that had no other people there, this is offered me another alternative. Before I wasnt sure how having other people in my photos would work because I was worrying about how crowded it would get and once other people where involved it would make doing HDR very hard. However this has shown me that there are other ways to make a set look fake and virtual without creating the whole set and having other people in it.

Mariko Mori

Mariko Mori

Mariko Mori

Mariko Mori

The other reason why I decided to look at her work for my project is because there are two images I have seen of hers that I really love, they are of two characters from a fantasy land. The images are so beautiful and so well composed that when I saw them for the first time I was just entranced by them, they are rather simple compared to elaborate works of Dave Hill but I still find them fascinating. The style of these images is also something I would like to try and capture, there is something so friendly and come hither-ish about them that I feel makes the images so inviting to look at which is something I want my audience to feel when they see my work, I don’t want them to feel singled out or in turn to single out my models. However I feel that for the Sailor Moon shoot I should opt for the busy streets over the warmth and wellcoming of these images, I feel thats more Rei’s style.  Also I feel like these images are more dream like, and as Rei started off in my dreams and in my head I feel like this dream like effect works better.

Mariko Mori

Mariko Mori

Mariko Mori

Mariko Mori

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

