Dave Hill

What greatly intrigued me about Dave Hills work was just how in your face it was! The Adventure series in particular caught my attention, it was fast paced and thrilling and everything I don’t really expect to see in a photo very often like I felt like I wanted to be in the chase scenes running away feeling like Indiana Jones or something. I knew from the moment I started this project I wanted to use HDR for the finals because I knew that it would give me the best results as am going for that slightly unreal effect and in HDR everything is so much more dramatised and harsher.  However I know that to get it to work properly and effectively without looking rubbish and to harsh I had to get the lighting and the set right, HDR doesnt leave much room for error as the slightest move comes up in the image meaning everything must stay completely still, which for the most part is fine but if I have a crowd of people who may not be part of the cast or whatever in my images, that could prove to be a problem.

Dave Hill

Dave Hill

Dave Hill

Dave Hill

Dave Hill

Dave Hill

Dave Hill

Dave Hill

Alas I know that my own HDR images wont come out as amazing as these but I have faith that they will be very good. I know exactly what I want and even though some ideas may change when  im away I am determined that HDR will be how I shoot my finals as I feel it is the only way I can best represent the fine line between reality and the virtual. When I look at these images I am reminded of the game stills taken by Dead End Thrills, these could easily have been stills taken by them just as the stills could easily have been HDR photographs.

I tell you what listen to the Assassins Creed 2 sound track whilst looking at game stills or these HDR photographs and it really makes you feel like running and being free, like a spy or assassins or tomb raider… seriously.

Leave a Reply

